Books are designed to organize your library. This means that when you place a song into a book, it is a reference to that song, not a copy. What this means is that if you are viewing a book that you've created and remove a song by swiping right to left and tapping "Remove", the song is removed from the book but remains in your library. You can access your entire library by going into the
Songs Menu and tapping the
Books button in the upper left to view the
Books Menu and then tap
All Songs.
When you swipe to delete a song from your books, it is only removed from the book. If you delete the song using another method such as the
Delete Button in the
Menubar of the
Song Editor, or by tapping on the Edit button in the upper right corner and deleting the song using
Multiselect, then yes, the songs will be deleted from your master library. You will want to ensure you use the Remove action, not the Delete action.
If you do accidentally delete a song, you can undelete songs that you've deleted by opening the
Utilities Menu by tapping on the gear icon in the
Menubar and choosing
Tools and then
Undelete Songs. Checkmark the songs you want to undelete and then tap Done to complete the process.